OzMosis in Recital: Explorations in Contemporary Australian Chamber Music and Performance

Nicole Panizza (Artist), Elizabeth Kelvin (Artist), Ilse De Ziah (Artist)

Research output: Practice-Based and Non-textual ResearchPerformance


"Being far from home has been a source of reflection for many artists over the centuries. As Australians, returning to the Old World, we relish the opportunity of bringing works that we grew up with to new audiences, whilst also sharing critical aspects of our cultural heritage and outlook." Internationally acclaimed, Ozmosis consists of Australian musicians living and working in Europe. Founded in Cork, Ireland in 2005 by Nicole Panizza, Katrina Emtage and Ilse de Ziah, Ozmosis are committed to exploring and promoting the best of new and existing contemporary chamber music that Australia has to offer.

This research project highlights composers indigenous to Australia. It seeks to create a record of new or rarely heard works and to establish a new model of chamber music programming and performance by showcasing works that highlight national ‘identity’ and specific artistic qualities pertinent to Australian cultural form. By exposing little-known musical works, and then transporting them into a “European” context, this recital program seeks to discover new ways for this unique cultural voice to engage in ‘dialogue’ with others, with the intention of creating a model for contemplating and constructing national identity. This dialogue is expressed through the partnerships of sound, text and performance. Performed by Lis Kelvin (clarinet), Ilse de Ziah (cello) and Nicole Panizza (piano) the programme features both existing and premiere performances:

The Big Dry - (clarinet, cello, piano), Kelvin (2009)
Threnody - (solo cello), Sculthorpe (1991-2)
Chiaroscuro I – (piano), Sutherland (1967)
Sobben - Nepitanc - (clarinet, cello, piano), Kelvin (2000)
feed it all it needs 1-4 – (clarinet), Plankenthorn (2009)
Snow, Moon and Flowers – (piano), Sculthorpe (1972)
Spur the Snakes! - (clarinet/cello), Free improvisation
Lahara's Stream - (cello/piano), Howlett (2010)
Sonus Dulcis - (clarinet, cello, piano), Pertout (2000)

Ozmosis' objective is to bring an innovative musical language to new audiences whilst honouring elements of our cultural heritage and outlook; via the commissioning of new works, and exploring repertoire that has been freshly created.
Original languageEnglish
Media of outputDVD
Publication statusPublished - 17 May 2017
EventOzmosis - In Recital: Coventry University InFORM Music Research Forum - ET101, Ellen Terry Building, School of Media and Performing Arts, Coventry University, Jordans Well, Coventry, United Kingdom
Duration: 17 May 201717 May 2017


  • Music
  • Australian cultural studies
  • Literature
  • Performance Studies
  • Composition

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Visual Arts and Performing Arts
  • Music


Dive into the research topics of 'OzMosis in Recital: Explorations in Contemporary Australian Chamber Music and Performance'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • OzMosis

    Panizza, N.


    Project: Research

Cite this